Specialisation & Flex-area

From winter semester 2020/21, the programme is divided into a compulsory area (1st semester), which includes study content from all four disciplines involved in the Master's programme in Educational Sciences, and a compulsory elective area, which consists of a specialisation and a flexibility area (2nd to 4th semester).

There is a choice of four specialisations, each of which is assigned to one of the four disciplines:

  • Vocational and operational pedagogy
  • Adult education/continuing education
  • Educational research
  • Culture and media in educational processes

In the flexibilisation area, students can choose to complete an internship, project work, study abroad or coursework from other specialisation areas.

The Master's thesis will be written in the chosen specialisation.